The Borough of DravosburgDravosburg

Historic Background

Dravosburg was first incorporated as a borough in 1903, but has records dating back to 1769 as one of the earliest settlements along the Monongahela River. The original settler, John Gray, was even granted the section of land of what today is the borough by the sons of William Penn, Thomas and John. 

The original site being along the flat banks of the river was prime for agriculture and was composed of a number of farms,  with the most prominent one being the Cunningham farm, a heritage of the Gray Family. When the borough was finally founded its first order of business was to hire a policeman. Records from the first council meeting shows the decision to purchase a revolver, mace, two handcuffs and build a local lockup for the town. 

When the first mine was open in 1835, what was once a quiet farming community became a bustling coal town, fitted with all the latest facilities and amenities including street cars, hotels, churches and school houses. 

Dravosburg Today

The borough’s staff and council continue to strive and make Dravosburg a place where every family can feel at home and enjoy themselves.  It does this by hosting a number of events and programs. A series of picnics are held throughout the summer as a way for residents to catch up with one another and during the holidays a Jolly Holly Christmas celebration is held in the borough building. The borough also maintains a park and a baseball field which is managed by its very own youth association. 


Total Population:1,792
Minority Population:85
Total Housing Units:1,000
Vacant Housing Units:168
Median Household Income:$41,918
Per Capita Income:$22,824
Individuals Below Poverty Line:10.1%

Community Profile


Borough Offices and Council

 The Borough Offices are located on 226 Maple Avenue | Dravosburg, PA 15034 and can be contacted by Phone at (412) 466-5200 or by Fax at (412) 466-6027.

Offices are open Monday through Friday: 8:00 am – 4:00 pm. 

Borough Staff

Staff PersonPosition
Brenda HonickSecretary/Treasurer
George CribbsStreet Department
Don ScottStreet Department
Steve VolpeBuilding Permits & Inspections
Wayne CosgroveFire Chief
Don GlennEngineer
George GobelSolicitor
County HaulingGarbage Collection

Borough Council

Meetings are open to the general public and take place the third Tuesday of every month in the borough offices at 7:00 pm. 

Elected OfficialPosition
Michelle VezzaniMayor
Jay McKelveyPresident
Bill SnodgrassVice President
Barbara StevensonCouncil Member
Greg WilsonCouncil Member
John PalcseyCouncil Member

 For more information please visit the borough’s Homepage.