The Borough of Glassport

Historical Background

Glassport was founded in 1902 and was named after the Glassport Land Company. The site for the United States Glass Company mill was chosen in1894. The mill specialized in pressed glass.

Before it was its own individual borough, Glassport was once a part of Elizabeth Township, then Lincoln Township, and then Port Vue.

The Glassport Odds were an independent league football team that was active from 1913-1950.

Glassport Today

Glassport has a thriving commercial corridor which boasts about ten restaurants, over ten shops and stores, and other services such as banks, convenience stores, and car repair shops.


Total Population:4,481
Minority Population:215
Total Housing Units2,237
Percent Vacant Housing Units:16%
Median Household Income:$37,557.5
Per Capita Income:$19,562
Individuals Below Poverty Level:11.9%

Community Profile

Glassport Community Profile  

City Offices & Council

The Borough offices are located at 440 Monongahela Avenue | Glassport, PA 15045 and can be contacted by Phone at (412) 672-7400

Office Hours: Monday – Friday: 9:00 am – 5:00 am

City Staff

Staff PersonPosition
Nancy Piazza-Whaby
Borough Secretary
Andrea FosterAssistant Borough Secretary
Steve VolpeBuilding Inspector
Timothy KiferCode Enforcement
Cliff LaFeverPolice Chief
Wayne LewisFire Chief
Waste ManagmentGarbage Collection
Senate EngineeringEngineer
Gary MattaSolicitor

City Council

Workshops and Regular meetings occur the second and third Tuesday of every month respectively at the borough office, 7:pm. 

Elected OfficialPosition
Rosemary BradleyMayor
David KowalskiPresident
Thomas W. Bradley Jr.Vice President
Angelo NorelliCouncil Member
Anna KudlaCouncil Member
Blair WojtonCouncil Member
Elaina SkibaCouncil Member
Paul TrunzoCouncil Member

For more information, please visit the City’s Homepage.